top of page

Meaningful Connections - Getting Started with ePortfolios

I started to create my ePortfolio on this wix website during EDLD 5305 when I had no clue what it included nor why.  Knowing why you do something is always more important than just doing the action.  There is purpose behind the portfolio now.  I assumed it was just an easy way to collect all of my data. 

Once there is ownership in your work with a dedicated goal in mind, the portfolio becomes an extension of who you are.  While I will have to heavily edit what I started, I am fine with the idea because it will give me an opportunity to show true ownership.  I look forward to growing in this process throughout the duration of the class.  

(edit)

Well, looking back at what an ePortfolio is, I understand now what it takes to make a decent one.  The definition on Dr. Harapnuik's post called Minimalist Definition of an Eportfolio states that an ePortfolio is simply "a learners digital

evidence of meaningful connections."  I've noticed that I've struggled knowing what meaningful was until I finished making sense of the purpose of the Eportfolio.  Documenting this journey is a process that should be done on a consistent basis in order to have honest output.  There are days when there is frustration.  There are days when there is pride in my successes.  I've found that I tend to only want to write about the later.  If I am documenting meaningful connections, I need to do a better job of documenting my struggles also.  They tend to stick with me much longer, unfortunately being a little bit more meaningful. 


Source


Harapnuik, D. (2015, August 4). Minimalist definition of an eportfolio. It’s About Learning. http://www.harapnuik.org/?p=5934


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page