top of page

Growth Mindset - Revisited

Initially, I learned a great deal of information relating to the growth mindset vs a fixed mindset. My previous post documented some differences between a fixed mindset and a growth mindset. What I've learned is that it is EXTREMELY difficult to have a complete growth mindset. It is tiresome and seems unrealistic to have that mindset all the time. It appears to be glorious and well worth it, but it is tough.


Previously, I learned that people with a fixed mindset may believe that people are either born with talent or they are not. Individuals with a growth mindset believe that they can accomplish anything through hard work and dedication. It sounds great, but a growth mindset is all about the constant push to be better. It is retraining your brain to stop listening to the people in our lives that hold us to a minimum standard, and to stop listening to ourselves when we are filled with doubt. This is the new standard when it comes to understanding what it will take to have any real form of disruptive innovation.

My plan is to change the way my entire school functions two days out of the week. I plan to have our students take extra classes in an asynchronous, blended format, because they enjoy it. The problem is


  1. Students don't enjoy school.

  2. Administrators don't enjoy major change (where I am currently teaching).

Everyone will tell me "No!" and will quickly explain that it can't work or it won't work. I've learned that growth is gradual and it needs to be implemented over time. I do not believe that a structural and conceptual change will be welcomed by students, faculty, or administration. The initial plan was to simply create the lessons based on the COVA model and focus on the power of "yet". That isn't good enough. My plan is to create the class while focusing on how well the students will learn.

I've researched models of learning and have come to find that Mark Robber has taught about how the youth tends to learn. The learning is not focused on your first chance or second chance trying to solve a problem, but instead on having fun learning many things while failing multiple times. This is a video game based approach to learning. Video games keep people's attention for hours on end while they are constantly learning, failing, learning, failing, and learning more. There is no real anger, frustration, or lack of empathy when they are learning when playing video games, but instead a desire to figure it out. That is what I want my class(es) to emulate.


I still whole hearted believe that the fixed mindset should be changed using the four major steps. I just believe that helping the students to have fun learning by creating a class based around these steps will be easier than purely teaching these steps.

I am well aware that this will not be an easy task. I am well aware that educators and administrators with Doctorate degrees, Masters degrees, and more formal and informal education than I will ever receive, will eventually scoff or laugh at my innovation plan. I am prepared to make my English pilot class one that will mesmerize audiences of young and old.

We must change from a behaviorist teaching philosophy and move closer towards the constructionist teaching philosophy as soon as possible. We must put the power in the students' hands and let them begin to enjoy learning compared to enduring learning. I firmly believe that I can start this program and change the way our school functions forever. Well, change it until it needs to be changed again. That is the power of growth.


Sources -

Harapnuik, D. (2013, April 5). Fixed Mindset vs Growth Mindset. It’s About Learning. http://www.harapnuik.org/?p=3627

The Super Mario Effect - Tricking Your Brain into Learning More | Mark Rober | TEDxPenn. (2018, May 31). [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vJRopau0g0&t=5s

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page